1. DIVISIONS OF THE BIBLE   The Bible is sub divided into two major Sections known as the Testaments, viz; The Old and the New Testaments.

In the Old Testament, the New is CONCEALED

In the New Testament, the Old is REVEALED.

Of the 66 books that make up the Bible, the Old Testament consists of 39 while the New Testament consists of 27 books.


Below is a simple classification of Bible Books.

I           The Old Testament

  1. Books of Israel’s Beginnings.  These are the Books of the Law, also known as The Pentateuch.  They are the first five books of the Bible and of the Old Testament popularly referred to as the Books of Moses.  They are:
    1. Genesis
    2. Exodus
    3. Leviticus
    4. Numbers
    5. Deuteronomy
  1. Historical Books.  These are the books containing a detailed History of Israel and they are the next twelve Old Testament books, namely:
    1. Joshua
    2. Judges
    3. Ruth
    4. 1 Samuel
    5. 2 Samuel
    6. 1 Kings
    7. 2 Kings
    8. 1 Chronicles
    9. 2 Chronicles
    10. Ezra
    11. Nehemiah
    12. Esther

3.         Poetry Books.  These are also known as the Books of Everyday Wisdom or The Writings.  They are the next five books, namely:

  1. Job.
  2. Psalms
  3. Proverbs
  4. Ecclesiastes
  5. Songs of Solomon

4.         Books of the Prophets.  These are sub divided into two,         five Major and 12 Minor Prophets, which end the Old Testament, namely:

(a)        Major Prophets

  1. Isaiah
  2. Jeremiah
  3. Lamentations
  4. Ezekiel
  5. Daniel

(b)       Minor Prophets

  1. Hosea
  2. Joel
  3. Amos
  4. Obadiah
  5. Jonah
  6. Micah
  7. Nahum
  8. Habakkuk
  9. Zephaniah
  10. Haggai
  11. Zechariah
  12. Malachi

II          The New Testament

  1. The Gospels.  Consisting of four books, named after the writers who had been with Jesus.
    1. Matthew
    2. Mark
    3. Luke
    4. John

II          History of the Christian (New Testament) Church, also known as the Acts of the Holy Spirit, namely:

Acts of the Apostles

  1. The Epistles:  These are Letters which are divided into two, namely:

(a)  Pauline Epistles:  Letters written by Paul the Apostle to specified Churches.

  1. Romans
  2. 1 Corinthians
  3. 2 Corinthians
  4. Galatians
  5. Ephesians
  6. Philippians
  7. Colossians
  8. 1 Thessalonians
  9. 2 Thessalonians
  10. 1 Timothy
    2 Timothy

(b)  General Epistles:

One written to the Jewish Christians in general, believed to be written by the Apostle Paul, but not confirmed by contemporary Bible Scholars, namely;

(1)  Hebrews

(2)  Seven Letters written to Christians generally, named after the writers.

  1. James
  2. 1 Peter
  3. 2 Peter
  4. 1 John
  5. 2 John
  6. 3 John
  7. Jude
  8. THE BOOK OF THE END:  This is the last book of the Bible, and of the New Testament, known as

The Revelations



  1. Most of the information was helpful, however, there are 4 missing books of the bible in this post. I don’t want anyone to be confused =)

    After 2 Thessalonians should be…

    1 Timothy
    2 Timothy

Your Opinion:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s